Rio Grande Water Conservation District
About us
Board Members
Well Information
Forms and Notices
Minutes and Agendas
Contact us
About us

The Rio Grande Water Conservation District is the leading entity in improved total water management in the San Luis Valley with a goal of efficiency and good water conservation efforts. Our mission, therefore, is "to enhance and protect the water rights of the citizens in the San Luis Valley who reside within the boundaries of the District".

The Rio Grande Water Conservation District (R.G.W.C.D.) is a statutorily Special District. The District was created by the Colorado General Assembly and formed in 1967 by a vote of the people residing within its boundaries. The R.G.W.C.D. was created to protect, enhance and develop water resources in the Rio Grande River basin. The district encompasses a five county region, which includes Alamosa, Rio Grande, Conejos and portions of Saguache and Mineral Counties within the Rio Grande River basin, including the Closed Basin.

The R.G.W.C.D. is a corporate body and a political subdivision. In order to accomplish its mission, the R.G.W.C.D. is authorized to levy an ad valorem tax on all real property located within the District, collect fees assessments and surcharges. In addition, R.G.W.C.D. is also authorized to contract with Federal, State and local agencies, and individuals.

RGWCDProjectsSubdistrict #1Subdistrict # 2Subdistrict #3Subdistrict #4Subdistrict #5Subdistrict #6